A Pastoral Statement to Lesbian and Gay Anglicans from Some Member Bishops of the Lambeth Conference

The following is a pastoral letter to homosexuals sent by some of the Lambeth bishops. The following has been released by Bishop Ronald Haines of Washington on behalf of the signers. The statement is still being signed.

August 5, 1998

Dear sisters and brothers,

The Lambeth Conference has spent nearly three weeks deliberating issues of human sexuality, among many other vital issues facing our worldwide Communion. We have met in a climate of enormous diversity and have attempted both to articulate our views and listen carefully to those of others.

Within the limitations of this Conference it has not been possible to hear adequately your voices, and we apologize for any sense of rejection that has occurred because of this reality. This letter is a sign of our commitment to listen to you and reflect with you theologically and spiritually on your lives and ministries. It is our deep concern that you not feel abandoned by your Church and that you know of our continued respect and support.

We pledge that we will continue to reflect, pray, and work for your full inclusion in the life of the Church. It is obvious that Communion-wide we are in great disagreement over what full inclusion would mean. We ourselves have varied views and admit, as the report of the Human Sexuality Subsection of the Conference says, that there is much we do not yet understand. But we believe it is an imperative of the Gospel and our faith that we seek such understanding.

We call on the entire Communion to continue (and in many places, begin) prayerful, respectful conversation on the issue of homosexuality. We must not stop where this Conference has left off. You, our sisters and brothers in Christ, deserve a more thorough hearing than you received over the past three weeks. We will work to make that so.

Faithfully, (Then follows the list of signers)

As of Saturday, August 8, 1998, the signers total: 146 (including 8 Primates). They are as follows:

Australia (8)

Phillip Aspinall, Adelaide

Brian Farran, Perth – Northern Region

Ian George, Adelaide (Metropolitan)

Roger Herft, Newcastle

Peter Hollingworth, Brisbane (Metropolitan)

Richard Randerson, Canberra & Goulburn

Andrew St. John, Melbourne – Geelong

Ronald Williams, Southern-Region, Brisbaane

Brazil (1)

Glauco Soares de Lima, Sao Paulo (Primate)

Canada (9)

David Crawley, Kootenay (Metropolitan)

James Cruickshank, Cariboo

John Hannen, Caledonia

Andrew Hutchinson, Montreal

Michael Ingham, New Westminster

Terence Finlay, Toronto

Michael Peers, Canada (Primate)

Ann Tottenham, Toronto – Credit Valley

Duncan Wallace, Qu’Appelle

Central Africa (2)

Khotso Makhulu, Botswana (Primate)

John Osmers, Eastern Zambia

England (33)

Gordon Bates, York-Whitby

Jonathan Bailey, Derby

David Bonser, Manchester – Bolton

Michael Bourke, Lichfield – Wolverhampton

Ian Brackley, Guildford-Dorking

Michael Doe, Bristol – Swindon

Richard Garrard, Penrith – Carlisle

John Garton, Exeter – Plymouth

John Gladwin, Guildford

Laurie Green, Chelmsford – Bradwell

Christopher Hill, Lichfield – Stafford

Edward Holland, Colchester

Rupert Hoare, Worcester – Dudley

William Ind, Truro

Richard Lewis, St. Edmundsbury & Ipswich

Christopher Mayfield, Manchester

John Nicholls, Sheffield

John Oliver, Hereford

John Richardson, St. Albans – Beford

Henry Richmond, Derby – Repton

Roger Sainsbury, Chelmsford – Barking

Mark Santer, Birmingham

John Saxbee, Hereford – Ludlow

Colin Scott, Manchester – Hulme

Peter Selby, Worcester

Robin Smith, St. Albans – Hertford

Alan Smithson, Durham – Jarrow

David Stancliffe, Salisbury

Timothy Stevens, St. Edmundsbury & Ipswich – Dunwich

Humphrey Taylor, York – Selby

James Thompson, Bath & Wells

Dominic Walker OGS, Oxford – Reading

Frank Weston, Ripon-Knaresborough

Ireland (3)

Richard Clarke, Meath & Kildare

Robin Eames, Armagh (Primate)

John Neill, Cashel & Ossory

Japan (1)

James Uno, Kita Kanto

New Zealand (7)

Thomas Brown, Wellington

David Coles, Christchurch

George Connor, Waiapu

Penelope Jamieson, Dunedin

Murray Mills, Waiapu

David Moxon, Waikato

John Paterson, Auckland (Primate)

Scotland (6)

Bruce Cameron, Aberdeen & Orkney

Douglas Cameron, Argyle & The Isles

Neville Chamberlain, Brechin

Michael Henley, St. Andrew’s Dunkeld & Dunblane

Richard Holloway, Edinburgh (Primate)

Gregor MacGregor, Moray, Ross & Caithness

South Africa (6)

Robin Briggs, Pretoria

Duncan Buchanan, Johannesburg

Geoffrey Davies, Umzimvubu

Njongokulu Ndungane, Cape Town (Primate)

Michael Nuthall, Natal

David Russell, Grahamstown

United States (65)

Frank Allen, Atlanta

Harry B Bainbridge III, Idaho

Charles Bennison, Pennsylvania

Frederick H. Borsch, Los Angeles

William Burrill, Rochester

Richard Chaing, Hawaii

Michael Creighton, Central Pennsylvania

Clifton Daniel, East Carolina

Jane Holmes Dixon, Washington

Joe Morris Doss, New Jersey

Christopher Epting, Iowa

Richard Grein, New York

Gary Gloster, North Carolina

Clark Grew, Ohio

Edwin Gulick, Kentucky

Ronald Haines, Washington

Sanford Hampton, Olympia

Barbara Harris, Massachusetts

Donald Hart, Maryland

Dorsey Henderson, Upper South Carolina

Robert Ihloff, Maryland

James Jelinek, Minnesota

Robert Johnson, Jr., North Carolina

Robert Johnson, Western North Carolina

David Jones, Virginia

Charles Keyser, Armed Forces

Rustin Kimsey, Eastern Oregon

Chilton Knudsen, Maine

Jerry Lamb, Northern California

Edward Lee, Western Michigan

Peter Lee, Virginia

Alfred Marble, Mississippi

Larry Maze, Arkansas

Jack McKelvey, Newark

Mary Adelia McLeod, Vermont

Rodney Michel, Long Island

Robert Miller, Alabama

Robert Moody, Oklahoma

Steven Plummer, Navajoland

Neff Powell, Southwest Virginia

Thomas Ray, Northern Michigan

Creighton Robertson, South Dakota

Hays Rockwell, Missouri

Catherine Roskam, New York

Calvin Schofield, Jr., Southeast Florida

Tom Shaw, SSJE, Massachusetts

Richard Shimpfky, El Camino Real

Mark Sisk, New York

William Smalley, Kansas

Andrew Smith, Connecticut

John Spong, Newark

William Swing, California

Chester Talton, Los Angeles

Robert Tharp, East Tennessee

Douglas Theuner, New Hampshire

James Thornton, Idaho

Martin Townsend, Easton

Orris Walker, Jr., Long Island

Vincent Warner, Olympia

Catherine Waynick, Indianapolis

Arthur Williams, Jr., Ohio

Geralyn Wolf, Rhode Island

Stewart Wood, Michigan

Wayne Wright, Delaware

Stewart Zabriskie, Nevada

Wales (4)

Alwyn Jones, St. Asaph (Primate)

David Huw Jones, St. David’s

Barry Morgan, Bangor

Rowan Williams, Monmouth